Positive Thoughts for Leslie Vail

David Meego - Click for blog homepageThis is a shout out for my great friend Leslie Vail. Leslie is a Microsoft Most Valuable Professional (MVP) for Microsoft Dynamics GP and has been a stalwart of the Microsoft Dynamics GP community for many years. She also known as the Dynamics Confessor on her Dynamics Confessions Blogspot.

Between you and me, she does not like it when I mention that she worked with Great Plains Accounting before Great Plains Dynamics 1.0 was even released. So don’t mention it to anyone.

Well, Leslie needs our help.

You might remember that when we last saw Leslie at reIMAGINE 2014 last November, that she was walking with a cane (which she decorated in typical Leslie style).

The issue is that Leslie has done so much walking around (wearing one of her capes) when training and at conferences, that her hips are playing up. So they are working on rebuilding her by replacing first one and then the other hip.

Leslie showing off her decorated cane at reIMAGINE 2014.

One hip has already been done, but Leslie was not yet ready for all the walking at Convergence 2015, and so could not make it. We really missed you in Atlanta Leslie.

Anyhow, a couple of days ago, she let me know that she has been diagnosed with Kidney Cancer. She is scheduled for surgery on this coming Monday morning (US time). This is her second brush with cancer and Leslie says she will beat this “bump in the road” like she did before.

Leslie also said this information was not newsworthy, but I disagreed. So I requested and received permission to post something as I wanted her to see how much she means to the Dynamics GP community.

Please keep Leslie in your thoughts and send lots of positive energy to her. Also add your comments and well wishes below.

Looking forward to see a healthy (and Bionic) Leslie soon at reIMAGINE 2015 (in Fargo) and/or GPUG Summit 2015 (in Reno).

Love you Leslie.


This article was originally posted on http://www.winthropdc.com/blog.

44 thoughts on “Positive Thoughts for Leslie Vail

  1. Hey, I am proud to be a member of the GPA for DOS club! I do not really care for the aches and pains associated with that group but I do not have much of a choice.

    Richard E. Wheeler


  2. Leslie is a fearsome force to be reckoned with! Be gone, kidney cancer! We’ve no time for you! Cheers Leslie! Praying for your complete recovery! Hugs, Denise Hartley


  3. I’m sorry to hear you’re ill. Make a quick recovery and get back with us in the GP Sphere, we will all feel your absence!


  4. Sorry to hear the bad news Leslie. Strap that cape on tight and kick cancers ass. Once your over this little bump in the road the cane will be just an accessory to your outfit.


  5. There is no testimony without a TEST! My prayers are with you, Leslie, as you prepare for your next battle!


  6. Hi Leslie,
    My prayers go out for you and I enjoyed meeting you at the reIMAGINE 2014 conference in Fargo… It was no coincidence that I got to meet you, David Musgrave and Mariano Gomez there last November (I hadn’t been to a GP partner event for 15 years since 1999)… And I too have enjoyed your book!

    So get well, Leslie — And all my best wishes for you!

    Richard Drezdon, GP CIS/CAAS since 1993

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I think that all your well wishes have had a positive affect on Leslie. She is officially home and recovering from surgery. The worst is behind her. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Thank you all,
    I am overwhelmed by the number of posts and private e-mails I’ve received from my extended family in the GP Community. I returned to the shipping lanes yesterday and am now trying to catch up on e-mail and messages. I look forward to seeing everyone at the next conference, just look for the flashing lights!


Please post feedback or comments

