Microsoft Edge says “Hmm, we can’t reach this page.”

David Meego - Click for blog homepageI have finally taken the plunge and updated my primary machine, a Surface Pro 3, to Windows 10.

I delayed the installation of Windows 10 for a little while primarily because I wanted to get GP Power Tools released and did not want anything to mess up my development environments.

Then my friend Bill Marshall seemed to have some issues with Dexterity and Windows 10, so I did some testing on another Windows 10 machine to ensure that everything should work.

While doing some initial testing after the upgrade, I started receiving errors from new Microsoft Edge internet browser.

Hmm, we can’t reach this page.

This would be expected if I did not have internet access, but I did. Internet Explorer worked fine and my mail worked perfectly via outlook.

While checking my settings on the Network and Sharing Center window, I noticed that my system had both a private and a public network showing. Even though my WiFi and Ethernet were connected to the same router.

I was able to solve the issue by cleaning up my network adaptors. I had a number of virtual drivers because I had been using a Hyper-V virtual machine to test the Windows 10 preview. Disabling the Hyper-V Virtual switch and making sure that the remaining Ethernet and WiFi adapters had all checkboxes selected on the Networking tab of propertues (except Microsoft Network Adapter Multiplexor Protocol and Hyper-V Externsible Virtual Switch) stabilised my connections.

Now both connections show as a Private connection to the same network and my internet connection is now fast and stable.

It seems that Microsoft Edge does not like it when there are both Private and Public networks at the same time.

Hope this helps.


This article was originally posted on

3 thoughts on “Microsoft Edge says “Hmm, we can’t reach this page.”

  1. I found a simple and easy way for the fix ….

    1. Go to Network Connections..

    2. The go to properties of the adapter.

    3. And double Click Internet Protoccol Version 4

    4. And use Preffered DNS as and Alternative DNS as

    This simple way worked for me even in windows 7 ( my previous OS)..

    NOw this step Worked on Windows 10 Edge..🙂


  2. Thankyou so much for this info my pc now works like new, I have tried everything even resetting to factory settings and reverting to windows 8.1. As I am over 60yrs old my Son kept saying I had done something wrong. This will show him?!?


Please post feedback or comments

