Friday Funny: What is AFL? Aussie Rules Explained

David Meego - Click for blog homepageToday, I start my flights to the USA for reIMAGINE 2015 in Fargo, ND and GPUG Summit 2015 in Reno, NV. By the time this article posts I will have already left Perth and be coming in to land in Sydney.

As is customary when I visit the US, I will be bringing some of Australia with me (usually in the form of edible treats). In this article, I thought I would bring some Australian sports knowledge to my overseas readers.

I know that most of my friends in the US have heard that Australia has a “football” game of its own, but don’t really understand what Aussie Rules or Footy is really about.

The videos below have been created by the AFL (Australian Football League) and help explain the game.

The first video is a great 5 minute introduction to the game with comparisons to other sporting disciplines.

What is AFL? Aussie Rules Explained (direct link)


This second video is much longer (30 minutes), but does go into the history as well as details about the teams and their star players, as well as how the game effects the community.

AFL Explained (direct link)


For more information check out the ALF website at

As I write this article, both Western Australian teams (the West Coast Eagles and the Fremantle Dockers) have advanced to the preliminary (semi) final round.  We need to wait until after this weekend’s games to know who they will be facing.


Time will tell if we will have an all West Australian “Derby” Grand Final.



This article was originally posted on

4 thoughts on “Friday Funny: What is AFL? Aussie Rules Explained

Please post feedback or comments

