Dexterity Training in Mexico – Part 1 of 3

David Meego - Click for blog homepageAfter the reIMAGINE 2015 conference (and the camera incident), I left Fargo, North Dakota on Friday for the next part of my trip. As already discussed, the plan was to stay on this side of the world between the reIMAGINE 2015 and GPUG Summit 2015 conferences rather than fly the 30 plus hours home, just to turn around and fly 30 plus hours back a week later. Not only would that cost a lot more, the multiple jet lags would also do horrendous things to my body clock.

So, while I was staying “in the area” I was asked to go down to Mexico City, Mexico to run a five day Dexterity Fundamentals class.

The trip down to Mexico was fairly quick and simple. A flight from Fargo to Dallas and after a short wait, a flight from Dallas to Mexico City. This was my first trip to Mexico (in fact my first trip further south than Texas in the Americas).

FYI: My knowledge of Spanish goes back to life as a British 12 year old on holidays in Mallorca (pronounced as Mayorca), the largest of the three Balearic Islands located east of Spain in the Mediterranean Sea. In other words, almost non-existent.

The team at Axentit in Mexico had asked for me to come down and train a number of their team plus a couple of developers from customers to get them started in the Dexterity development world. Some of the attendees had already worked with Visual Studio Tools integrations, but not in Dexterity. Two of the attendees had some Dexterity experience from a previous training, but had never really used it, so this course was a refresher for them.


I just want to highlight the importance of Dexterity training, even for developers who are not planning to work with Dexterity moving forward. Understanding how Dexterity works allows developers to understand how Microsoft Dynamics GP works and why it behaves in particular ways. A Visual Studio Tools developer will be much more efficient and will create better code if they have at least done the basic level of Dexterity Training.


I am not going to bore you with details of the class other than to say I had nine attendees and they all did very well and they gave me excellent scores and feedback on the evaluation forms. Thanks guys.

The rest of this article is going to cover the time outside the training where my hosts, Mariano Arias and José Ramírez, showed my the sights, sounds and tastes of Mexico.

José picked me up from the Airport and we headed back to the Axentit office in the Condesa area in Mexico City. We then picked up Irio Daniel and the four of us went and had some lunch at a Mexican buffet. Below is the first photo with the new camera:

Lunch1Clockwise: José Ramírez, Mariano Arias, Irio Daniel and David Musgrave

I got to try a lot of different dishes that I had not had before and also started to understand that what we “Gringos” understand to be Mexican food in Australia and the United States is not actually what they eat in Mexico (at least in Mexico City).


After lunch, they guys dropped me of at the boutique hotel I was staying at. The Villa Condesa Hotel was only a short walk from the office and is a lovely, friendly small hotel.


The hotel does not look like much from the street, but once you are inside, it is quiet, welcoming and relaxing. The rooms are small and cosy… but not cramped. It has a lush garden which sets the tone as you walk in.


Mariano and José had planned a busy agenda for the weekend, so I had an early night so I would be ready….

More to come….


This article was originally posted on

2 thoughts on “Dexterity Training in Mexico – Part 1 of 3

Please post feedback or comments

