Friday Funny: Awesome Citroen 2CV Advert

David Meego - Click for blog homepageWhen I as at school, I was one of those geeky boys that spent a lot of time in the school library. I actually worked as Library Assistant for a couple of years… I even still have the little badge to prove it. 🙂

Other the being able to play lots of games, it also meant that I could read lots of different magazines.

I bring this up as many years ago while I was still at school in the early 1980’s, I found a really funny advert for the Citroen 2CV automobile in a Punch Magazine. I recently tried (and succeeded) in finding that advert on the interwebs and wanted to share it with you.

You remember the little Citroen 2CV, which was named in French as Deux Chevaxu-Vapeur (meaning “Two Steam Horses”) and sold between 1948 and 1990.

By the 1980’s, the car was really showing its age compared to the newer designs from the same era. Punch magazine was a satirical publication and the advert that Citroen placed in the magazine showed they had a great sense of humour and did not take themselves or their car too seriously.


Click on image for full sized version

When I searched for the advert, I even found the follow-up advert that Citroen posted using the same style.


Click on image for full sized version

There is even a modern take on this style created for fun by the user Mikeado for the Citroen C4 Cactus.

For a final laugh, have a look at the “awesome” handling of the 2CV in a rally race.

Crazy Citroen Dyane 6 Rally | Drifts & Maximum Attack | Alberto Miera 2007 – 2009 (direct link)

Enjoy

David

This article was originally posted on http://www.winthropdc.com/blog.

4 thoughts on “Friday Funny: Awesome Citroen 2CV Advert

  1. So much memory!! My parents had both, a blue 2CV and a white Dyane 6, on which I even learned to drive and later had a lot of fun to use from time to time.. Taking some curves at high speed was really something no other car would offer as experience 🤣..

    PS : BTW.. It spelled Deux-Chevaux (Like two horses), but it was called the “Deuche” by its aficionados..

    Like

  2. PPS: some of the most memorable car chases was Roger Moore & Carole Bouquet in “For your eyes only” when they get chased thru small Spanish roads by 2 “Pigeot” (Peugeot) 504, also a car that my parent owned at some time (silver grey)..
    In my opinion, the 2CV Charleston has been the most beautiful paint of the “Deuche” (to pronounce Deusche)

    Like

Please post feedback or comments

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.