Microsoft Dynamics GP 2010 Homepage and Area Pages Script Errors

David Meego - Click for blog homepageRecently my Microsoft Dynamics GP 2010 installation started generating errors while navigating around the Homepage and Area Pages. I thought it was due to the recent Windows 10 1809 update, but have since learned that this was not the cause.

I temporarily fixed the issue by removing all objects from the Homepage and only using the application menus for navigation and not using the Area Pages at all.

Today, I came across an article on the Dynamics GP Support and Services Blog that referenced this issue and provided a solution.

As a developer, I write code for multiple versions of GP and on my system have the following versions installed:

  • Microsoft Dynamics GP 2010 (v11.0)
  • Microsoft Dynamics GP 2013 (v12.0)
  • Microsoft Dynamics GP 2013 R2 (v13.0*)
  • Microsoft Dynamics GP 2015 (v14.0)
  • Microsoft Dynamics GP 2015 R2 (v15.0*)
  • Microsoft Dynamics GP 2016 (v16.0)
  • Microsoft Dynamics GP 2016 R2 (v17.0*)
  • Microsoft Dynamics GP 2018 (v18.0)
  • Microsoft Dynamics GP 2018 R2 (v19.0*)

* Note: I number the R2 versions differently so they match the DYNAMICSXX and TWOXX databases on my single SQL Server instance.

The error was “An error has occurred in the script on this page.” with the details: “Object doesn’t support property or method ‘all’

Regardless if you say Yes or No to the dialog, it continuously pops up as you move the mouse around the Homepage or Area Pages.

The article I found (see links below) explained that the error was occurring due to a change to the Internet Explorer emulation version number in the registry used for Dynamics.exe. I realised that this setting must have been changed when I installed GP 2018 R2.

It was changed in GP 2018 R2 as it appears that PowerBI requires the compatiblity setting to be IE11 or 11000 (0x2AF8), but GP 2010 fails with this setting. GP 2010 does work using IE10 or 10000 (0x2710).

As I don’t work with PowerBI, I changed the setting from 0x2AF8 to 0x2710 and now all of the versions I have installed (as shown above) work perfectly.

I created a reg file to update the registry should the problem recur. Just copy the text below into Notepad and save with a .reg extension:

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main\FeatureControl\FEATURE_BROWSER_EMULATION]
"Dynamics.exe"=dword:00002710
  

For more information see the following articles:

Hope you find this useful

David

This article was originally posted on http://www.winthropdc.com/blog.

2 thoughts on “Microsoft Dynamics GP 2010 Homepage and Area Pages Script Errors

Please post feedback or comments

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.